St. Lawrence

Locke Named Sarah Devens Award Winner

Locke Named Sarah Devens Award Winner

ALBANY, N.Y. -- St. Lawrence University senior forward Marianna Locke (Brasher Falls, NY) has been named the winner of the 2009 Sarah Devens Award.  Given as a joint award between ECAC Hockey and Hockey East, the Devens Award is presented annually to a player who "demonstrates leadership and commitment both on and off the ice."

Each conference submitted a league nominee for consideration.  The winner receives a post-graduate scholarship of $10,000. 

Locke is the third Saints' student-athlete to receive the Devens Award.  A captain on the ice, she provided leadership and self-sacrifice for the betterment of the Saints' program and her teammates.  Locke became the 15th student-athlete in St. Lawrence's history to record 100 career points, while helping the Saints reach four consecutive NCAA tournaments.  She ranks in the top five on the Saints' all-time list for power play goals and game-winning goals.

Off the ice, Locke has been involved in numerous activities.  Locke has volunteered for three years at the United Helpers Society to help provide services for seniors, developmentally disabled and mentally ill patients in the North Country.  She has also developed the "Adopt an Angel Program," which helped fundraising efforts to purchase gifts and day-to-day necessities for under-privileged children in St. Lawrence County.  Locke also participated in the St. Lawrence University Community Clean-Up Program organizing team efforts and individually partaking in community-wide winter waste and debris removal projects.  She has also been a volunteer in the Brasher Falls Big Sister Program, a volunteer assistant coach for the Adirondack Team in the Empire State Games and a participant with the Saints in the "Adopt-a-Highway" program.

Locke plans on pursuing a post-graduate degree in the near future.

Past recipients of the award include:  1997 -- Kathryn Waldo (F), Northeastern; 1998 -- Sarah Hood (F), Dartmouth; 1999 -- Jamie Totten (D), Northeastern; 2000 -- Carrie Jokiel (F), New Hampshire; 2001 -- Christina Sorbara (F), Brown; 2002 -- Dianna Bell (F), Cornell; 2003 -- Rachel Barrie (G), St. Lawrence; 2004 -- Lindsay Charlebois (F), St. Lawrence; 2005 -- Nicole Corriero (F), Harvard; 2006 -- Karen Thatcher (F), Providence; 2007 -- Lindsay Williams (F), Clarkson; 2008 -- Lizzie Keady (F), Princeton, 2008.

Locke will receive the 2009 Sarah Devens Award at the St. Lawrence Hockey Team Banquet Friday, May 1st in Canton, NY.

Other nominations from ECAC Hockey and Hockey East included:  Kacey Bellamy, University of New Hampshire, Carli Clemis, Dartmouth College, Lundy Day, Union College, Missy Elumba, Northeastern University, Colleen Harris, Boston College, Kimberly McKenney, Clarkson University and Vanessa Vani, University of Maine.

About ECAC Hockey
ECAC Hockey boasts elite student-athletes and teams from 12 of the nation's most prestigious institutions - Brown University, Clarkson University, Colgate University, Cornell University, Dartmouth College, Harvard University, Princeton University, Quinnipiac University, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, St. Lawrence University, Union College and Yale University.

(click here to view complete release in PDF format)