Seeley, Vigilanti Earn New England Postseason Awards

Rick Seeley (l) and Victoria Vigilanti
Rick Seeley (l) and Victoria Vigilanti
HAMDEN, Conn. - Quinnipiac University women's ice hockey Head Coach Rick Seeley and freshman goaltender Victoria Vigilanti (Woodbridge, Ontario) have earned postseason awards from the New England Hockey Writers, as announced by the committee this morning. Seeley was named the New England Division I Women's Coach of the Year, while Vigilanti was named one of two goaltenders on the New England Women's Division I All-Star Team. The duo earns the recognition after leading the Bobcats to their most successful season in program history.

In just his second year behind the bench for Quinnipiac, Seeley directed the team to their best overall season record (19-10-8) and conference record (11-4-7 ECACHL) since the program's foundation nine years ago. The single season turnaround from the 2008-09 season, where the Bobcats went 3-26-5, was the first time in college hockey history that a team saw a 16 game improvement in both the win and loss column. After finishing the 2009-10 season tied in third place in the ECAC, Quinnipiac hosted its first-ever postseason series, and picked up its first tournament win on Feb. 26.

Vigilanti saw a stellar rookie season in net for the Bobcats, suiting up for all 37 games on the year and earning the start in 36 of them. The Ontario-native anchored the Quinnipiac defense throughout the season, finishing the year ranked first in the ECAC in goals-against average (1.24), save percentage (.951) and saves (901). Her efforts in net earned Vigilanti seven weekly conference awards before being named the ECAC Goaltender and Rookie of the Year in the postseason. The freshman was also named to the All-Conference and All-Rookie squads as the only goaltender on each special team.

Also joining Vigilanti as a goaltender on the All-New England squad is Northeastern sophomore, Florence Schelling. University of New Hampshire senior forward Kelly Paton earned the New England Women's Division I Player of the Year honors. The awards were voted on by a panel of administrators and media throughout the region. The awards banquet will be held on Tuesday, April 13, in Saugus, Mass.