Dartmouth Announces Annual Team Awards for 2013-14 Season

Dartmouth Announces Annual Team Awards for 2013-14 Season

HANOVER, N.H.  – Head coach Mark Hudak has announced the 2013-14 Dartmouth women’s hockey team awards. Six individuals were named the recipient of seven team accolades for their play this past season.

Senior goaltender Lindsay Holdcroft was the big winner, taking home two honors as Defensive and Team MVP. The Pittsburgh native made 25 starts in her final season in Hanover, posting a 2.67 goals against average and a .906 save percentage. Holdcroft became just the fifth goalie in program history to reach 50 wins in a Big Green sweater, finishing up her collegiate career third all-time at Dartmouth with 56 victories to her credit.

Holdcroft’s 645 saves this winter rank as the eighth-best single-season mark in program history. Her name appears on that list’s top-10 three times for her work as a sophomore, junior and senior. No other netminder in Dartmouth history has played more games (106), seen more minutes in the crease (6,404:06) or made more saves (2,487) than Holdcroft in a career.

For Holdcroft, it marked her fourth straight year being named the team’s top defensive player.

Offensive MVP honors were presented to sophomore Lindsey Allen as the sophomore led the team in goals (14), points (23), game-winning goals (5), power-play tallies (5) and multi-point games (8). Those numbers helped the Toronto product earn a spot on the All-Ivy League First Team in just her second year.

The Rookie of the Year award was presented to freshman defenseman Eleni Tebano. The freshman from Glastonbury, Connecticut, appeared in all 30 games for the Green in 2013-14, tallying two goals and registering seven points in the process. She began her career with assists in four of the first five games of the season, but her steady play in the defensive zone in addition to her willingness to jump up with the rush helped her claim this honor.

Freshman Devon Moir was tabbed as the team’s Most Improved Player. The rookie from Toronto quickly adjusted to the collegiate game and Dartmouth’s style of play as she suited up for 28-of-30 games this season. All three of her goals came in ECAC Hockey play, including the game-winning tally in the regular-season finale at Yale that helped the Big Green clinch the final spot in the league’s postseason tournament.

Senior and team co-captain Ali Winkle was elected the Unsung Hero of 2013-14. Her eight points matched her career high, while setting a new standard with five helpers in 30 games played. Scoring just three goals all season, Winkle had the knack for finding the back of the net in key situations with two game winners coming against Providence (Dec. 31) and at Yale (Jan. 10). In all three instances in which the Espanola, Ontario, native scored, Dartmouth went on to win the game.

The Sarah Kennedy Award was given to senior Lauren Kelly. A defenseman from Milton, Ontario, Kelly scored two goals this season, both coming in wins against Yale and Colgate. Her 26 games played during 2013-14 helped push her over the 100-career games-played mark, finishing her career with 101 appearances.

The Sarah Kennedy Award is given to a junior or senior who in their time at Dartmouth demonstrates a selflessness in putting team first above individual goals, a dedication to their team and school with their actions both on and off the ice, perseverance in the face of adversity and a sincere love for the sport of ice hockey.

Team MVP – Lindsay Holdcroft '14
Defensive MVP – Lindsay Holdcroft '14
Offensive MVP – Lindsey Allen '16
Rookie of the Year – Eleni Tebano '17
Most Improved – Devon Moir '17
Unsung Hero – Ali Winkel '14
The Sarah Kennedy Award – Lauren Kelly '14