Apps Named to All-Decade Team

Apps Named to All-Decade Team

HANOVER, NH - Former Big Green standout and two-time Olympic gold medalist Gillian Apps ’06 was Dartmouth’s lone selection to the ECAC Hockey All-Decade Team as she earned second-team honors.

Apps played for the Big Green from 2002 to 2007 with a year off in 2006 for the Winter Olympics in Torino. She collected 158 points in her four years, which puts her seventh all-time in the category. She played in 113 career games, amassing 90 goals, which is sixth all-time and also has the Dartmouth record for most penalty minutes in a career with 281.

During her career, the Big Green made three appearances in the NCAA Frozen Four and her teams made appearances in the NCAA Tournament each of her four seasons. Apps was a part of two Ivy League Championship teams and two ECAC Hockey Tournament Title teams. She also won a regular-season title back in 2007.

Apps is one of only two Dartmouth skaters to be named Ivy League and ECAC Hockey Player of the Year. She earned the honor in 2006-07, joining former teammate Carly Haggard ’03 as the only two to accomplish such an honor. Apps was also named to both the All-Ivy First Team and First Team All-ECAC Hockey as a senior and was selected as a top-10 finalist for the Patty Kazmaier Award, given to the top women’s college hockey player in the nation.

Apps has also made her mark away from Dartmouth with two appearances for Team Canada in the Winter Olympics. She earned her first gold medal back in 2006, beating Team USA and teammate Sarah Parsons ’10, and repeating for her second gold medal this year in Vancouver. 

Dartmouth also had multiple nominees for the award. Joining Apps were Haggard, Parsons, Carli Clemis ’09, Jenna Cunningham ’10, Tiffany Hagge ’06, Maggie Kennedy ’09, Kristin King ’02, Amanda Trunzo ’11, Katie Weatherston ’06, Cherie Piper ’06, Correne Bredin ’02, Alana BreMiller ’05 and Louise Pietrangelo ’04.

Harvard led the way with six former alumni on the two teams, followed by St. Lawrence with three former players represented on the 12 player list. A committee made up of coaches and league administrators selected the group recognizing distinguished play of student-athletes in the league from the 1999-2000 season thru the 2008-09 season.