Clarkson's Loren Gabel Wins 2018-19 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award

Clarkson's Loren Gabel Wins 2018-19 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award

HAMDEN, Conn. - Loren Gabel (Sr. / Clarkson University) has been named the 2018-19 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winner, recognizing the top player in Division I College Hockey.  Gabel is the 22nd recipient of the “Patty Kaz” award, and the second Golden Knight to claim the prestigious honor, following Jamie Lee Rattray who received the award in 2014. 

The Kitchener, Ont. native has been dynamic throughout her four years with the Golden Knights, but was especially lethal during her senior season, leading the nation with 34 goals during the regular season. She also added 29 assists, giving her 63 regular-season points which was near the top of all skaters in the country.

A two-time ECAC Hockey Player of the Year, Gabel is the Golden Knights all-time leading scorer, finishing her career with 213 points (116G, 97A). She helped continue the winning tradition at Clarkson University, leading the team to four NCAA Frozen Four appearances, three ECAC Hockey Tournament Championships, and two NCAA National Titles.

Click HERE to read the release from the USA Hockey Foundation, and see a full list of former Patty Kaz Award winners.

Stay up to date on all ECAC Hockey news, scores, and awards by following @ecachockey on Twitter, @ecachockey in Instagram, liking ECAC Hockey on Facebook, or by downloading our ECAC Hockey mobile app.