Three ECAC Hockey Teams in NCAA Women's Tournament Field

Three ECAC Hockey Teams in NCAA Women's Tournament Field

ALBANY, N.Y. - Three ECAC Hockey women’s teams have earned spots in the 2019 NCAA Ice Hockey Tournament, as Clarkson, Cornell, and Princeton have all received bids. The league leads the way with three teams in this year’s eight-team field. Hockey East and the WCHA each earn two bids, while CHA has one team in the tournament.

The Golden Knights earn the number four seed in the tournament, and will host Boston College in the opening round next weekend. Clarkson will ride a seven-game undefeated streak into the game, capped off by its third consecutive ECAC Hockey Championship earlier today.

Cornell will travel to No. 3 Northeastern in the first round, as the Big Red look to take down the Hockey East champions. The teams have not met since the 2013-14 season, when Cornell swept a two game set against the Huskies.

Princeton will be on the road as well, squaring off with No. 2 Minnesota in the opening round. The Tigers faced Minnesota the last time they were in the NCAA tournament in 2016, jumping out to an early lead before eventually falling to the Golden Gophers.

Should both Princeton and Cornell win their opening round matchups, they would meet in the NCAA semifinal round.

More information, including streaming links, game notes, and more will be available later this week.

Stay up to date on all ECAC Hockey news, scores, and awards by following @ecachockey on Twitter, @ecachockey in Instagram, liking ECAC Hockey on Facebook, or by downloading our ECAC Hockey mobile app.