ECAC Hockey Announces Women's Individual Award Winners

ECAC Hockey Announces Women's Individual Award Winners

ITHACA, N.Y. - The 2018-19 ECAC Hockey women’s award winners were announced on Friday at the annual Championship banquet, recognizing the leagues top players. Seven awards were handed out in total, with players from five institutions being recognized.

For the second straight season, Clarkson standout Loren Gabel has been honored as the Forward and Player of the Year. The senior capped off her outstanding career with possibly her best season yet, leading the nation in scoring with 37 goals (1.09 goals per-game). She surpassed a number of career marks in 2018-19, becoming the Golden Knights all-time leading scorer, while also eclipsing both the 100-goal and 200-point marks.

RPI’s Lovisa Selander earns the MAC Goaltending Goaltender of the Year award after an incredible season that saw her lead the nation in saves, and rank second in save percentage. The senior was dominant throughout her four-year career with the Engineers, surpassing the NCAA all-time saves record during the last month of the regular-season. She was named a Patty Kazmaier Top-10 finalist, the only goaltender on the list and the first RPI player in history to be named a finalist for the “Patty Kaz”.

Sarah Fillier (Princeton) was awarded the Rookie of the Year award after leading not only the league, but the entire nation in points per-game. Fillier has recorded 54 points (20G, 34A) through the teams first 27 games this season, averaging two points per contest. She has been named the ECAC Hockey and Women’s Hockey Commissioners Association (WHCA) Player of the Month twice this year.

Cornell’s Jaime Bourbonnais earned the award for Best Defenseman after anchoring a Big Red team that allowed just 1.6 goals per-game in 2018-19. The junior was an impact player at both ends of the ice, recording 29 points (9G, 20A) while blocking 34 shots so far this year. Her +32 pus/minus rating was the highest on the team.

Doug Derraugh (Cornell) has been named Coach of the Year after leading the Big Red to their first ECAC Hockey regular-season title since the 2012-13 campaign. Derraugh’s team was extremely efficient this year, averaging 3.3 goals per-game while holding its opponents to just 1.6. The scoring came from up and down the lineup, as 14 different skaters recorded double-digit points for Cornell this season.

Quinnipiac senior Mackenzie Lancaster has been honored as the Mandi Schwartz Student-Athlete of the Year, an award that recognizes the student-athlete that demonstrates excellence both on and off the ice. Lancaster was one of the leaders on a Bobcat team that appeared in this year’s ECAC Hockey Tournament, registering 22 points this season including a team-high 18 assists. She was also exceptional in the classroom, boasting a 3.91 GPA as a Psychology major and Sociology minor.

The 2019 ECAC Hockey Women’s Championship will continue this weekend, with semifinal matchups set for 1 and 4 p.m. tomorrow before Sunday’s Championship game at 2 p.m.

Stay up to date on all ECAC Hockey news, scores, and awards by following @ecachockey on Twitter, @ecachockey in Instagram, liking ECAC Hockey on Facebook, or by downloading our ECAC Hockey mobile app.