League Announces Postseason Awards

League Announces Postseason Awards

ALBANY, N.Y. -- ECAC Hockey announced the recipients of the league’s annual postseason awards at its banquet held as part of the 2012 ECAC Women's Hockey Championship weekend held at Cornell University.

Cornell, the league’s leading offense (4.50 G/GM) and defense (1.27 G/GM), showcased four student-athletes on the conference’s first team, along with coming away with four individual awards on the evening.

Senior Big Red forward Rebecca Johnston, who won the conference's Rookie of the Year award in 2008, completed her college career by earning her first Player of the Year Award. Cornell junior Lauriane Rougeau who has recorded a plus/minus rating of +43 which is best in the league and nine points higher than anyone not on the Big Red's roster took home the Best Defensive Defenseman award. Johnston and Rougeau were also named to the First Team All-League squad. Big Red senior Chelsea Karpenko, a physical player who rarely lets opposing forwards get past her, earned Co-Best Defensive Forward honors. She blocks shots regularly and was part of a Cornell roster that gave up a league-low 28 goals this year. Cornell rookie Jillian Saulnier was a three-time ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Week (11/1/11, 11/8/11, & 2/14/12) and two-time ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Month (October & November) this season was tabbed with the league’s Rookie of the Year award. Saulnier earned 26 points in conference games (tied for seventh in the league) on 16 goals and 10 assists.

Joining Johnston and Rougeau on the First Team All-League squad were teammates sophomore forward Brianne Jenner who was fifth in the league this season with a +32 plus/minus rating and had four game-winning goals and defender junior Laura Fortino who had 32 points on five goals and 27 assists this year and is the country's top scoring defenseman with 1.19 points per game. Her 27 assists lead all defensemen in ECAC Hockey by eight.

Dartmouth’s Reagan Fischer shared the Co-Best Defensive Forward award. Her five-on-five and penalty-kill play defensively was exceptional all season. She had 14 blocked shots in conference play. Fischer ranked second on the team in goals (10) and third (21) in points in conference action.

The league’s top goaltender was sophomore netminder Erica Howe, who was the key reason for Clarkson's success this year, playing all but 47 minutes in the Knights' goal. She tied for second in the nation in shutouts with seven. She posted a .941 save percentage, 1.41 goals-against average and a .727 win percentage and five shutouts in ECAC Hockey play.

Chris Wells who guided the Saints from 7th (11-11-0) to a tie for 4th (14-6-2) in ECAC Hockey standings earned the league’s Coach of the Year award. He posted his second career 20-win season and will coach in the ECAC Hockey Semifinals for the second time. Wells guided his team to a nine-game unbeaten streak, longest in the nation at the time, and to a 16-2-1 record since December 1.

Below is a complete list of 2011-12 honors:

Forward        Jillian Dempsey, Harvard
Forward        Rebecca Johnston, Cornell
Forward        Brianne Jenner, Cornell
Defense        Laura Fortino, Cornell
Defense        Lauriane Rougeau, Cornell
Goaltender    Erica Howe, Clarkson

Forward        Kelly Sabatine, St. Lawrence
Forward        Jillian Saulnier, Cornell
Forward        Kelly Babstock, Quinnipaic
Defense        Josephine Pucci, Harvard
Defense        Sasha Nanji, Dartmouth
Goaltender    Rachel Weber, Princeton

Forward        Rylee Smith, St. Lawrence
Forward        Kelly Foley, Dartmouth
Forward        Lyndsey Fry, Harvard
Defense        Regan Boulton, Quinnipiac
Defense        Brooke Fernandez, St. Lawrence
Goaltender    Aubree Moore, Brown

Forward        Sarah Robson, Brown
Forward        Eleeza Cox, Rensselaer
Forward        Jillian Saulnier, Cornell
Defense        Amanda Boulier, St. Lawrence
Defense        Sarah Edney, Harvard
Goaltender    Carmen MacDonald, St. Lawrence

Winner is Chris Wells, St. Lawrence

Winner is Lauriane Rougeau, Cornell

Tie - Winners are Reagan Fischer, Dartmouth & Chelsea Karpenko, Cornell

Winner is Jillian Saulnier, Cornell

Winner is Erica Howe, Clarkson

Winner is Rebecca Johnston, Cornell

Winner is Brown

(click here to view complete release)