ECAC Hockey Unveils All-Decade Teams

ECAC Hockey Unveils All-Decade Teams

ALBANY, N.Y. -- ECAC Hockey today announced its women’s All-Decade Teams made up of former student-athletes from four different schools.  Harvard leads the way with six former alumni on the two teams, followed by St. Lawrence with three former players represented on the 12 player list.  A committee made up of coaches and league administrators selected the group recognizing distinguished play of student-athletes in the league from the 1999-00 season thru the 2008-09 season. 

Jennifer Botterill leads the quartet of former Harvard student-athletes on the women’s first-team.  Botterill is a four-time Olympian (three-time medalist) and the only two-time recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award (2001 and 2003).  The four-time All-America selection helped Harvard reach the Frozen Four on three occasions, winning the 1999 AWCHA national championship.  While at Harvard Botterill was named ECAC Hockey Player of the Year in 2000, 2001, and 2003.  She also took home ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Year in 1999 and was selected a to the All-ECAC Hockey first team four times (1999, 2000, 2001, 2003).  She holds the Harvard career scoring record with 340 points and 157 goals.  She also ranks second in school history with 183 assists.  Botterill is the NCAA record holder for points in a game (10), assists in a game (seven), career points per game (3.07), career goals per game (1.44), and career assists per game (1.63). 

Joining Botterill at the forward position is another former decorated Harvard player - Julie Chu.  Chu is a three-time Olympian (two-time medalist) and former winner of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award (2007).  While at Harvard Chu was selected as a three-time All-American (2003, 2005, 2007) and helped the Crimson reach the NCAA championship game in 2003, 2004, and 2005.  She was a member of 2003, 2004, and 2005 ECAC Hockey regular-season championship teams and 2004 and 2005 ECAC Hockey tournament championship teams.  Chu earned ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Year in 2003 and was named to All-ECAC Hockey first-team in 2003, 2005, and 2007, as well as to the second team in 2004.  She ranks third in Harvard history with 285 points and first with 197 assists.  She holds the NCAA record with 197 assists. 

The third forward on the first-team is another high scorer - Sarah Vaillancourt.  She was the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winner in 2008 and a three-time finalist for the prestigious honor (2007, 2008, 2009).  This two-time Olympian (won the gold medal in 2006 in Torino) was also a three-time All-American (2007, 2008, 2009).  Vaillancourt helped Harvard reach the NCAA championship game in 2005 and the NCAA tournament in 2005, 2007 and 2008.  She guided the Crimson to ECAC Hockey regular-season championships in 2005, 2008, and 2009, as well as ECAC Hockey tournament championship teams in 2005 and 2009.  She was named ECAC Hockey Player of the Year in 2008 and 2009 and earned ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Year honors in 2005.  The four-time All-ECAC Hockey pick (including first team in 2008 and 2009), ranks seventh in Harvard history with 237 points on 106 goals and 131 assists.  She ranks fifth in NCAA history with 237 points.  Vaillancourt led ECAC Hockey in scoring with 40 points (18-22-40) in 2007-08 and with 35 points (20-15-35) in 2008-09. 

Leading the blueliners is Tara Mounsey from Brown.  Mounsey is 13th on the Bears’ all-time scoring list, compiling 48 goals and 70 assists for 118 total points in just 78 games.  Her 70 assists also put her in the top-10 all-time at Brown.  She was named to the First Team All-ECAC Hockey in each of her three seasons, in 1997, 1999, and 2000, and was the ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Year in 1997.   Mounsey was named a Second Team All-American in 1999, and a First Team selection in 2000.  She was recognized as a finalist for the Patty Kazmaier Award in 2000.  She had the distinction of playing in the 1998 Olympic Games, where she helped the United States win the first gold medal in women’s ice hockey.  In those games, Mounsey had two goals and two assists in six games.  She also played in the 2002 Olympics, winning the silver medal and tallying seven assists in five games.

Joining Mounsey on the blueline is another former Crimson student-athlete - Angela Ruggiero.  Ruggiero was a four-time finalist for Patty Kazmaier Award (1999, 2000, 2003, 2004), taking home the prestigious honor in 2004.  She was also a four-time Olympian (three-time medalist).  Ruggiero was the ECAC Hockey Tournament MVP in 2004 and named to the ECAC All-Tournament Team in 1999 and 2004.  The former ECCA Hockey Player of the Year (2004) was named to the league’s first-team in 1999, 2000, 2003, and 2004.  She ranks sixth in Harvard history with 253 points on 96 goals and 157 assists.  Ruggiero registered a career-high 83 points on 29 goals and 54 assists in 2002-03.  She helped Harvard reach the NCAA championship game in 2003 and 2004 and was a member of 1999, 2003, and 2004 ECCA Hockey regular-season championship teams and 1999 and 2004 ECCA Hockey tournament championship teams. 

Between the pipes Ali Brewer from Brown was selected as the team’s netminder.  Brewer holders virtually ever record for the Bears, including:  lowest goals-against average in a single season (0.94), lowest goals-against average for a career (1.37), highest save percentage in a single season (.957), highest save percentage in a career (.943), most shutouts in a single season (13), most consecutive shutouts (5), most shutouts in a career (39), most wins in a single season (25), and most wins in a career (85).  Brewer is also second all-time in career saves, with 2,490.  She backstopped Brown to two ECAC Hockey championships, in 1998 and 2000, and was Brown’s only recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Award, which she won in 2000.  In the same season, Brewer was the ECAC Hockey Goaltender of the Year and was named an AWCHA All-American.


Forward  Jennifer Botterill, Harvard (1998-03)
Forward  Julie Chu, Harvard (2002-05)
Forward  Sarah Vaillancourt, Harvard (2005-09)
Defense  Tara Mounsey, Brown (1999-04)
Defense  Angela Ruggiero, Harvard (1999-04)
Goaltender Ali Brewer, Brown (1997-00)

Forward  Gillian Apps, Dartmouth (2002-07)
Forward  Nicole Corriero, Harvard (2002-05)
Forward  Sabrina Harbec, St. Lawrence (2005-08)
Defense  Annie Guay, St. Lawrence (2005-08)
Defense  Caitlin Cahow, Harvard (2004-08)
Goaltender Rachel Barrie, St. Lawrence (2000-04)

(click here to view complete release in PDF format)