Parsons, Smith Named Finalists for Patty Kazmaier Award

Parsons, Smith Named Finalists for Patty Kazmaier Award

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The USA Hockey Foundation today announced the 10 finalists for the 2010 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, presented annually to the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey. The finalists include Dartmouth forward Sarah Parsons (Dover, Mass./Dartmouth College) and St. Lawrence defenseman Britni Smith (Port Perry, Ont./St. Lawrence University).

Joining Parsons and Smith as finalists are (in alphabetical order): junior forward Vicki Bendus (Wasaga Beach, Ont./Mercyhurst College), senior forward Emmanuelle Blais (Lasalle, Que./Univ. of Minnesota Duluth); sophomore forward Bailey Bram (Ste. Anne, Man./Mercyhurst College); senior forwards Felicia Nelson (St. Paul, Minn./St. Cloud State Univ.) and Kelly Paton (Woodstock, Ont./Univ. of New Hampshire); freshman goaltender Noora Räty (Espoo, Finland/Univ. of Minnesota); junior forward Jesse Scanzano (Montreal, Que./Mercyhurst College); and sophomore goaltender Florence Schelling (Oberengstringen, Switzerland/Northeastern Univ.).

The top-10 class of candidates for the 13th annual Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award represents all four women's college conferences: College Hockey America, ECAC Hockey, the Hockey East Association and the Western Collegiate Hockey Association.

The award selection process began in early February, when NCAA Division I women's ice hockey coaches were asked to nominate players for the award. Nominated players were then placed on an official ballot, which was sent back to the coaches to vote for the top 10 finalists. The independent accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP, tabulated the ballots.

The three finalists, including the recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, are chosen by a 13-member selection committee comprised of NCAA Division I women's ice hockey coaches, representatives of the print and broadcast media, and a representative of USA Hockey, the National Governing Body for the sport of ice hockey in the United States.

Sarah Parsons
Dartmouth (Forward, Senior, Dover, Mass.)

Led Dartmouth in all offensive categories (20-20-40) ... Named first team All-Ivy and ECAC Hockey Second Team ... Leads ECAC Hockey and is eighth in the nation in points per game (1.43) ... Leads ECAC Hockey with 40 points ... Ranks fourth in the nation in assists per game (0.71), seventh in goals per game (0.71) and 13th in goals (20) ... Ranks second in ECAC Hockey with 20 assists and fourth in power-play goals (6) ... Posted 13 multi-point games ... Finalist for the ECAC Hockey Student-Athlete of Year, Best Defensive Forward and Player of the Year ... Participated in Holiday Helpers, a program with Dartmouth student-athletes providing holiday gifts for the less fortunate ... Member of Link-Up, a student-run group that matches incoming freshmen women with female mentors from the senior class on campus ... Volunteer with Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston.

Britni Smith
St. Lawrence (Defenseman, Senior, Port Perry, Ont.)

Ranked third in the NCAA among defensemen with 25 points (8-17) ... Recorded eight multi-point games ... Named ECAC Hockey Player of the Week on Dec. 14 ... An ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team member ... Earned Second Team All-Conference honors ... Volunteered at both the E.J. Nobel Physiotherapy Clinic and the Adirondack Physical Therapy Clinics ... Volunteered at the Little River Community School, working with four- to seven-year-old children to develop reading and writing skills ... Participated in "Skate with the Saints," which allows local children a chance to meet and skate with their favorite college players.

An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award recognizes the accomplishments of the most outstanding player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey each season. Selection criteria includes outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement.

The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is named in honor of the late Patty Kazmaier, who was a four-year varsity letter-winner and All-Ivy League defenseman for Princeton University from 1981-86. An accomplished athlete who helped lead the Tigers to the Ivy League Championship in three consecutive seasons (1981-84), Patty Kazmaier-Sandt died on Feb. 15, 1990, at the age of 28 following a long struggle with a rare blood disease.