Hishmeh, Wrazidlo to Officiate Olympic Games

Hishmeh, Wrazidlo to Officiate Olympic Games

Meghan Hishmeh, who serves as an ECAC Hockey linesman, and Leah Wrazidlo, a League referee, are among a group of 15 on-ice officials named to work the women's ice hockey tournaments at the XXI Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, British Columbia, the International Ice Hockey Federation announced.

Leading the list is Canadian Bill McCreary, the dean of NHL referees, who is going to his third Olympic tournament. The 54-year old Guelph, Canada native officiated in Nagano 1998 where he called the gold medal game between the Czech Republic and Russia (1-0). He also officiated the gold medal game four years later in Salt Lake City, Canada - United States (5-2).

Peter Feola, who serves as an ECAC Hockey referee, is among a group of 28 on-ice officials named to work the men's ice hockey tournaments.

The men's tournament will be called by 14 referees (seven from NHL) and 14 linesmen (six from NHL). NHL referees have been part of the Olympic on-ice officials crews since Nagano 1998.

Danny LaRue (USA) and Danny Kurmann (Switzerland) are also going to their third Olympics. They both worked in Salt Lake City 2002 and Turin 2006. Canadian Marc Joannette (NHL) officiated at the 1997 IIHF World Championship in Finland. He was at that time an IIHF referee.

Vancouver 2010 will be the first Olympic ice hockey event where the men's tournament will be officiated with the four-man system. The women's games will be officiated with one referee, and two linesmen.

The women's tournament includes six referees and nine linesmen. British referee Joy Tottman and Swedish linesman Annica Floedén are returnees from Turin 2006.

The Olympic ice hockey tournament in Vancouver is played according to the IIHF Rule Book, on a North American rink surface (Canada Hockey Place and UBC Thunderbird Arena).

Men's ice hockey tournament




Bulanov, Vyacheslav (RUS)

Blumel, Petr (CZE)

Devorski, Paul (CAN/NHL)

Feola, Peter (USA)

Joannette, Marc (CAN/NHL)

Fonselius, Stefan (FIN)

Kurmann, Danny (SUI)

Heyer, Shane (CAN/NHL)

LaRue, Dennis (USA/NHL)

Kicha, Andriy (UKR)

McCreary, Bill (CAN/NHL)

Losier, Sylvain (CAN)

O'Halloran, Dan (CAN/NHL)

Morin, Jean (CAN/NHL)

Orszag, Peter (SVK)

Murphy, Brian (USA/NHL)

Pellerin, Guy (CAN)

Nelson, Thor (USA/NHL)

Reiber, Brent (SUI)

Novak, Milan (SVK)

Ronn, Jyri (FIN)

Nowak, Tim (USA/NHL)

Rooney, Chris (USA/NHL)

Oskirko, Yuriy (RUS)

Vinnerborg, Marcus (SWE)

Sharrers, Jay (CAN/NHL)

Watson, Brad (CAN/NHL)

Winnekens, Felix (GER)


Women's ice hockey tournament




Gage, Mary Anne (CAN)

Arazimova, Zuzana (CZE)

Hertrich, Nicole (GER)

Floeden, Annica (SWE)

Hove, Aina (NOR)

Hishmeh, Meghan Margaret (USA)

Sipila, Ulla (FIN)

Majapuro, Anna (FIN)

Tottman, Joy (GBR)

Nakayama, Miyuki (JPN)

Wrazidlo, Leah (USA)

Richardson, Heather (CAN)

Rolstad, Kelli M. (USA)

Rumble, Kerri (CAN)

Skovbakke, Malene (DEN)