ECAC Hockey Loses Legendary Coach

ECAC Hockey Loses Legendary Coach

ALBANY, N.Y. -- Tim Taylor, the longtime Yale hockey coach, died Saturday after a long battle with cancer. Taylor, who was coach of the Bulldogs for 28 seasons in a 30-year span, was 71.

His passing came two weeks after Yale won its first national title April 13 in Pittsburgh, defeating rival Quinnipiac. The Bulldogs are coached by Keith Allain, a student-athlete at Yale under Taylor and later his assistant in the 1980s.  

Born March 26, 1942, Taylor attended Harvard University from 1959-63 and played on the school's men's ice hockey team. He captained the Crimson team that won the Ivy League and ECAC Hockey Championship in 1963 and posted 46 goals and 33 assists for 79 points in 68 career games.

Taylor represented the United States twice as a player in international competition, competing on the U.S. Men’s National Team in both 1965 and 1967.

"The ECAC Hockey family, and hockey community, has suffered a great loss with the passing of coach Tim Taylor. He is an icon within ECAC Hockey and the entire sport,” remarked Steve Hagwell, ECAC Hockey Commissioner. “A gentleman's gentleman, Coach epitomized the true meaning of honor, integrity, loyalty and class. Coach truly was a blessing to everyone who had the privilege of knowing him. I certainly am a better man because of my relationship and friendship with coach. He will greatly missed, but not forgotten."

Taylor’s coaching resume includes a historic 28-year run (1976-83/1984-93/1994-2006) as the head coach of Yale’s men’s ice hockey team. He coached more games than anyone else in the history of the ECAC Hockey and led the Bulldogs to 19 ECAC Hockey playoff appearances. He earned the ECAC Hockey Coach of the Year Award on three occasions (1987, 1992, 1998). He won more games (337) than any coach in the 117-year history of the program.

ECAC Hockey renamed its coach of the year award for Taylor in 2007.

The 1997-98 season, one in which he was honored with the Spencer Penrose Award as the NCAA Division I Coach of the Year, included a school-record 23 wins, Yale’s first conference crown and a berth in the NCAA tournament.