Princeton Announces it will hold Champions Weekend on Feb. 17

Princeton Announces it will hold Champions Weekend on Feb. 17

The Princeton men's hockey program is pleased to announce it will hold Champions Weekend on Feb. 17 to honor the championship teams of 1998 and 2008. That evening the Tigers will host Union in the regular-season home finale at 7 p.m.

A ceremonial puck drop will be held with Princeton hockey alums and Stanley Cup champions George Parros '03 and Kevin Westgarth '07.

During the first intermission, the 1998 ECAC Championship team will be honored. Members of that team include: Michael J. Acosta, Sylvanus C. Apps, Christopher J. Barber, Scott J. Bertoli, Craig R. Bradley, Matthew D. Brush, Shane L. Campbell, Christopher M. Corrinet, Jason O. Dillow, Ethan E. Doyle, Jason T. Given, Jeffrey C. Halpern, Jackson K. Hegland, Brian M. Horst, Jeffry M. Kutner, Casson M. Masters, Bradley D. Meredith, Benoit Morin, Christopher A. Patrick, Joseph S. Pelle, Nicholas F. Rankin, Erasmo Saltarelli, Steven T. Shirreffs, Robert A. Sinclair, Darren J. Yopyk, Peter J. Zavodny, Head Coach Don Cahoon.

The 1998 team won the program's first ECAC championship and made the first appearance in the NCAA tournament. With an 18-11-7 overall record, the Tigers went 7-9-6 in the ECAC to finish seventh in the regular standings. Princeton traveled to Brown for the first round and won in three games. In three days, between March 19-21, Princeton won three games in Lake Placid for the ECAC title, defeating Cornell 6-2 in the ECAC Final Five Play-In Game, a 2-1 win over Yale in the semifinal and a 5-4 double overtime thriller against Clarkson. The Tigers faced Michigan on its home ice in Ann Arbor in the NCAA West Regional and fell 2-1. Shirrefs was named second-team All-America and earned All-ECAC honors along with Halpern. Five Tigers were named ECAC All-Tournament include Apps, Halpern, Masters, Saltarelli and Shirreffs.

During the second intermission the 2008 ECAC Championship team will be honored. Members of that team include: Matthew J. Arhontas, Daniel R. Bartlett, Tyler J. Beachell, Kevin T. Crane, Taylor W. Fedun, Matthew W. Godlewski, Kyle E. Hagel, Lee F. Jubinville, Kevin F. Kaiser, Zane Kalemba, Michael R. Kramer, Brandan S. Kushniruk, Kevin M. Lohry, Cameron J. MacIntyre, Mark E. Magnowski, Michael K. Moore, Jody C. Pederson, Erik F. Pridham, Alan W. Reynolds, Camerin B. Ritchie, Oussama Sabky, Bradley R. Schroeder, Keith S. Shattenkirk, Landis J. Stankievech, Thomas R. Sychterz, Brett W. Wilson, Head Coach Guy Gadowky.

The 2008 squad posted a 21-14 record, reaching the NCAA Midwest Regional Semifinal - falling to North Dakota. With a 14-8 ECAC mark, the Tigers defeated Yale in three games in the ECAC Quarterfinals to advance to the semifinal against Colgate. After 3-0 shutout of the Raiders, the Tigers went on to defeat Harvard 4-1 in the title game. With a 9-1 Ivy League record, the Tigers were also crowned the Ivy League Champions. During the season the team scored 301 points the third most in program history before the second-most assists of 189 and 112 goals. At the conclusion of the season Jubinville and Moore both earned first-team All-America honors with Jubinville being tabbed a candidate for the Hobey Baker Award along with winning both the ECAC and Ivy League Player of the Year honor. Moore was named the ECAC's Defensive Defenseman of the Year and Stankievich not only claimed the ECAC Student-Athlete of the Year but was also won the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. Kalemba and Wilson also earned all-league honors. The ECAC All-Tournament team included Kalemba, Lohry and Moore.