Fayetteville’s Sean Bonar Named SPHL Most Valuable Player

(Photo credit: Fayetteville Observer)
(Photo credit: Fayetteville Observer)
HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 20, 2017) – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) on Thursday announced that Sean Bonar of the Fayetteville FireAntz has been selected as the 2016-2017 SPHL Most Valuable Player. 
The SPHL Most Valuable Player award is presented annually to the player selected to be the most valuable to his team as determined in a vote of league coaches, general managers and media representatives.
Fayetteville teammate Tayler Thompson finished second in the voting.
Just the third goaltender to receive the honor, Bonar set new league records for wins (32) and minutes played (2956:17). Bonar also led all netminders in save percentage (.927) shutouts (four), saves (1296) and shootout wins (five), while finishing second with a 2.07 goals against average. Bonar also established a new SPHL record for lowest career goals against average at 2.03.
SPHL Most Valuable Player Award Winners
2016-17 - Sean Bonar, Fayetteville FireAntz
2015-16 - Garrett Bartus, Macon Mayhem
2014-15 - Matt Gingera, Columbus Cottonmouths
2013-14 - Shawn McNeil, Louisiana IceGators
2012-13 - Josh McQuade, Fayetteville FireAntz
2011-12 - Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears
2010-11 - Matt Auffrey, Augusta RiverHawks
2009-10 - Rob Sich, Fayetteville FireAntz
2008-09 - Travis Kauffeldt, Huntsville Havoc
2007-08 - Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears
2006-07 - Rob Sich, Fayetteville FireAntz
2005-06 - Matt Carmichael, Huntsville Havoc
2004-05 - Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears