Brown Announces 2017-18 Team Awards

Brown Announces 2017-18 Team Awards

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Brown men's hockey program recently announced its team awards for the 2017-18 season. 

Senior Sam Lafferty (Hollidaysburg, Pa.) was the recipient of The Class of 1936 Trophy, which is awarded annually to the player who through sportsmanship, performance and influence contributed the most to the sport at Brown.

Lafferty, who earned the MVP award for the second straight season, led the team in points (22) and assists (14) to go along with eight goals. A two-time assistant captain, he earned All-Ivy honors for the second time in as many seasons and was named Academic All-Ivy for the second time in his career. Lafferty notched 50 career assists and signed a professional contract with the NHL's Pittsburgh Penguins after the season.

Senior Tim Lappin (St. Charles, Ill.) was the recipient of two awards, including the Charles A. Lanigan Memorial Trophy. This award honors the late Brown trainer and is given to the senior hockey player who shows the most improvement during his varsity career. Lappin put together a strong senior campaign, as he set career highs in both points and goals, including a pair of game winners.

Lappin was also the recipient of the Charles A Robinson, Jr. Memorial Trophy (Academic Excellence). Honoring the late Brown Classics professor, this trophy is given annually to the hockey letterman attaining the highest degree of academic excellence for the first seven semesters.

Senior Tyler Bird (Andover, Mass.) was the recipient of the Patrick S. Jones Memorial Trophy (Coaches' Award) for the second straight season, awarded in honor of the former Brown hockey player. This award is given to that member of the team who generates the most spark and enthusiasm in building team spirit. Bird, who served as an assistant captain as a senior, ranked third on the team in scoring and finished his career tied for second on the team in games played.

Freshman Luke Kania (Chicago, Ill.) was awarded the James H. Fullerton Trophy (Rookie-Of-The-Year). This award is given to the first-year player who in the eyes of his teammates contributed the most to the success of the team. Kania started 19 games as a freshman goalie, ending the season with a .902 save percentage, and earned a shutout over Dartmouth en route to ECAC Goalie of the Week honors.

Brown's captains for the 2018-19 season will be announced at a later date.

2017-18 Brown Hockey Award Winners

Class of 1936 Trophy (MVP)
2017-18 Recipient: Sam Lafferty 

Patrick S. Jones Memorial Trophy (Coaches' Award)
2017-18 Recipient: Tyler Bird 

Charles A. Lanigan Memorial Trophy (Most Improved)
2017-18 Recipient: Tim Lappin 

James H. Fullerton Trophy (Rookie-Of-The-Year)
2017-18 Recipient: Luke Kania                                                                                             

Charles A. Robinson Jr. Memorial Trophy (Academic Excellence)
2017-18 Recipient: Tim Lappin