Brown Garners Top All-Academic Honors

Brown Garners Top All-Academic Honors

ALBANY, NY - For the third year in a row, the Brown men's ice hockey team led ECAC Hockey with All-Academic selections, as 28 Bears were among 181 student-athletes to earn the honor. Quinnipiac followed with 19, while Dartmouth and RPI each had 17 student-athletes earn recognition. Players are eligible for the All-Academic team if they earn a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters. Freshmen were eligible for the team for the first time in 2006-2007 and remain eligible for the team.

Seniors Jordan Pietrus (Winnipeg, MAN), Dan Rosen (Syosset, NY), Devin Timberlake (Port Alberni, BC), Scott Van der Linden (Antigonish, NS), and Aaron Volpatti (Revelstoke, BC) earned the honor for the fourth consecutive year, while senior Sean McMonagle (Oakville, ONT), juniors David Brownschidle (Lawrenceville, NJ), Jesse Fratkin (Burnaby, BC), and Jeremy Russell (St. Albert, ALB) join them and are among 53 student-athletes who have been named to the team at least three times.

In addition to the seniors already mentioned, classmate Hunter Thunell (Walpole, MA) has also been named to the team, earning the honor for the second straight year. Juniors Tyler Fernandez (Bloomfield, CT) and Harry Zolnierczyk (Toronto, ONT) were also recognized for the second straight year.

The sophomore class includes two-time honorees Mike Clemente (Great Falls, VA), Bobby Farnham (North Andover, MA), Riley LaForge (Edmonton, ALB), Jack Maclellan (Calgary, ALB), Jarred Smith (Pepper Pike, OH) and Mike Wolff (Walpole, MA), while classmate Jeff Buvinow (Turnersville, NJ) was recognized for the first time in his career.

All nine of Brown's freshmen, Evan Atkinson (White Rock, BC), Anthony Borelli (Grand Island, NY), Richie Crowley (Canton, MA), Francis Drolet (Lachine, QUE), Scott Harff (Watertown, NY), Jeff Ryan (Media, PA), Marc Senecal (North Bay, ONT), Trevor Smyth (Calgary, ALB), and Chris Zaires (Aberdeen, NJ) were also honored.

2010 Brown ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team Selections
Evan Atkinson, Fr., Undeclared
Anthony Borelli, Fr., Undeclared
David Brownschidle, Jr., Economics*^
Jeff Buvinow, So., Undeclared
Mike Clemente, So., Undeclared*
Richie Crowley, Fr., Undeclared
Francis Drolet, Fr., Undeclared
Bobby Farnham, So., Undeclared*
Tyler Fernandez, Jr., Economics*
Jesse Fratkin, Jr., Commerce, Organizations, & Entrepreneurship*^
Scott Harff, Fr., Undeclared
Riley LaForge, So., Undeclared*
Jack Maclellan, So., Undeclared*
Sean McMonagle, Sr., History*^
Jordan Pietrus, Sr., Commerce, Organizations, & Entrepreneurship*^&
Dan Rosen, Sr., Political Science*^&
Jeremy Russell, Jr., Economics & Neuroscience*&
Jeff Ryan, Fr., Undeclared
Marc Senecal, Fr., Undeclared
Jarred Smith, So., Undeclared*
Trevor Smyth, Fr., Undeclared
Hunter Thunell, Sr., International Relations*
Devin Timberlake, Sr., Commerce, Organizations & Entrepreneurship*^&
Scott Van der Linden, Sr., Economics*^&
Aaron Volpatti, Sr., Human Biology*^&
Mike Wolff, So., Undeclared*
Chris Zaires, Fr., Undeclared
Harry Zolnierczyk, Jr., Economics*

* 2008-2009 selection
^ 2007-2008 selection
& 2006-2007 selection