Men's Coach of the Year Finalists Announced

Men's Coach of the Year Finalists Announced

ALBANY, N.Y. - The finalists for 2018-19 men’s Coach of the Year have been released, and Casey Jones (Clarkson), Rand Pecknold (Quinnipiac), and Mike Schafer (Cornell) have all been named top-three finalists.

Jones, who is in his eighth year at the helm of the Golden Knights program, guided Clarkson to a 22-10-2 record this season, including a 13-7-2 record in ECAC Hockey play. The team was particularly strong on its home ice, boasting a 12-3-1 home mark in 2018-19. They outscored their opponents by more than a goal per-game, and saw eight different skaters register double-digit points.

Pecknold has guided a team with 13 freshman to national prominence, as the Bobcats have been ranked inside the top-10 for a majority of the 2018-19 season. They finished the regular-season with a 25-7-2 record, including 14-6-2 in ECAC Hockey play, which was good for the number one seed in the post-season tournament. His team converted over 27% of its power plays, while holding its opponents to just 13.3%.

Schafer led Cornell to a share of the 2018-19 Cleary Cup, the second straight year that the Big Red have earned at least a share of the regular-season title. After battling injuries early in the season, Schafer and the Big Red turned things around in the second half of the year, posting an 11-3-4 record after the break. The scoring this year came from up and down the lineup, as 10 different players recorded at least 10 points.

The 2018-19 Coach of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, March 19. 

Stay up to date on all ECAC Hockey news, scores, and awards by following @ecachockey on Twitter, @ecachockey in Instagram, liking ECAC Hockey on Facebook, or by downloading our ECAC Hockey mobile app.