Schafer Named League’s Tim Taylor Coach-of-the-Year

Schafer Named League’s Tim Taylor Coach-of-the-Year

ALBANY, N.Y. -- ECAC Hockey (@ecachockeyMWD1) today announced that Mike Schafer, Cornell has been named the 2017-18 Tim Taylor Coach of the Year. as selected by his fellow head coaches in the league.

Mike Schafer guided Cornell to the program’s ninth Cleary Cup - awarded annually to the ECAC Hockey regular-season champion - posting a 17-3-2 in conference action. It marked the fourth title during the tenure of 23rd-year head coach and the first time since 2005.

Currently sporting a .839 winning percentage, it's Cornell's best regular-season mark since it went 24-4-1 during the 2002-03 season before a postseason run into the Frozen Four. Schafer’s defense has been solid leading the nation in team defense on surrendering 45 goals on the season at 1.45 goals-against per game, which would rank as the sixth-stingiest Division I season on record.

He is currently the winningest coach in program history with 437 wins and has been awarded with the league’s top coaching honor on three previous occasions (2202, 2003 and 2005).

He picked up his 231st career victory on Jan. 27, 2007, a 2-1 victory against Colgate at Lynah Rink, to become the program’s all-time wins leader. Schafer reached the 400-win milestone in 2017, a mark previously reached by only 43 coaches in all of college hockey.

Currently sitting at No. 2, the Big Red remains the highest-ranked team in ECAC Hockey and is in the national top five in both polls for a 12th consecutive week and will be looking to claim its 13th ECAC Men’s Tournament Championship this weekend in Lake Placid, N.y.

Rick Bennett, Union and Casey Jones, Clarkson were also tabbed as finalists for the top coaching honor.