League Announces Postseason Awards

League Announces Postseason Awards

ALBANY, N.Y. -- ECAC Hockey (@ecachockeyMWD1) announced today the winners of its annual postseason awards and all-league teams as selected by the league’s 12 head coaches. This season’s winners came from three schools - Harvard, Quinnipiac and Yale and featured three repeat winners from a year ago.

For the second consecutive season, Harvard captain Jimmy Vesey earned the league’s Player of the Year honor. Vesey ranked second in league-play in both points (38) and goals (30). The senior forward is a top 10 finalist for the Hobey Baker Award and a finalist for both the Walter Brown Award and Senior CLASS awards.

Leading the league in nearly every goaltending statistical category, junior Alex Lyon from Yale was voted the Ken Dryden Award winner, recognizing the league’s top netminder. Lyon backboned the top defense in the conference registering a 1.50 goals-against average and .943 save percentage in logging nearly 1300 minutes in 22 games.

Guiding Quinnipiac to back-to-back Cleary Cup titles, Bobcats head coach Rand Pecknold earned his second-career Tim Taylor Award, honoring the league’s top coach. Leading his squad to a No. 1 national ranking for much of the 2015-16 campaign, Pecknold’s Bobcats ranked first in the league in scoring offense and second in the league in scoring defense, which led to their 16-1-5 mark in 22 league contests.

The catalyst for Yale on offense this season, Joe Snively took home top rookie honors. The freshman forward led the Bulldogs in scoring in conference action recording 19 points on 12 goals and seven assists in 22 league games.

Yale’s Carson Cooper was named the league’s Best Defensive Forward. The senior from Bow Island, Alberta registered 22 blocks, while winning nearly 300 face-offs. He helped the Bulldogs establish themselves as the top penalty kill unit in the league, stopping 60-of-62 opportunities while being a man-down.

Another repeat winner, honoring the league’s top blue-liner, as Best Defensive Defenseman Yale’s Rob O’Gara helped the Bulldogs establish themselves as one of the nation’s best defensive teams, yielding only 1.68 goals per game in overall play. He is known for making sharp decisions and logging extended minutes on the ice.

Becoming the second individual to win the league’s Student-Athlete of the Year Award, Harvard’s Kyle Criscuolo epitomizes the model for ECAC Hockey’s most prestigious honor. A senior psychology major with a minor in Economics, Criscuolo maintains a 3.548 grade point average while taking a demanding course load at Harvard. His dedication in the classroom has caught the eye of some of the institution’s most distinct faculty members, who noted his work and discussions on topics ranging from classical Chinese ethics and theory to contemporary political issues.  

Prior to the start of the season he was named the first two-time captain for Crimson in nearly 70 years, marking just the fourth occurrence of the honor in the program’s storied history.

Skating on Harvard’s top line, he ranked sixth in the conference in scoring recording 21 points and tied for the league-lead in game-winning goals.

A remarkable student-athlete who has accomplished a tremendous amount with his schedule, he has been named a finalist for the Hockey Humanitarian Award and Senior CLASS Award.
Yale earned its second consecutive Team Sportsmanship Award, honoring the program which best reflects Sportsmanship, Tenacity, Commitment and Innovation during the season.

Listed below is a complete list of the all-league and all-rookie selections:
Forward    Sam Anas, Quinnipiac     
Forward    Nick Lappin, Brown     
Forward    Jimmy Vesey, Harvard
Defense    Gavin Bayreuther, St. Lawrence            
Defense    Rob O'Gara, Yale
Goaltender Alex Lyon, Yale

Forward    Kyle Criscuolo, Harvard
Forward    Tim Clifton, Quinnipiac     
Forward    Travis St. Denis, Quinnipiac
Defense    Eric Sweetman, St. Lawrence    
Defense    Devon Toews, Quinnipiac
Goaltender Jason Kasdorf, Rensselaer

Forward    Alexander Kerfoot, Harvard         
Forward    Tyson Spink, Colgate
Forward    Mike Vecchione, Union
Defense    James de Haas, Clarkson
Defense    Paul Geiger, Clarkson         
Goaltender Michael Garteig, Quinnipiac

Forward    Ryan Kuffner, Princeton
Forward    Tommy Marchin, Brown     
Forward    Joe Snively, Yale
Defense    Max Gottlieb, Brown
Defense    Chase Priskie. Quinnipiac
Goaltender Cam Hackett, Rensselaer

ECAC Hockey Men’s Championship are on sale now. Tickets can be purchased at the 1980 Rink - Herb Brooks Arena Box Office, by calling 518-523-3330 or through www.whitefacelakeplacid.com. The event marks the 55th overall championship and the 13th time at historic 1980 Rink - Herb Brooks Arena, Lake Placid N.Y., which hosted the league’s marquee event from 1993-2002 and 2014-2015.

The four top teams coming from the league’s quarterfinal tournament round, featuring Quinnipiac vs. Dartmouth and Harvard vs. St. Lawrence, will battle it out on the ice looking to capture the Whitelaw Cup and an automatic bid to the 69th annual NCAA Division I Men’s Hockey Tournament. The two semifinal games will take place Friday, March 18 at 4 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. and the championship game will be played Saturday, March 19 at 7:30 p.m.

Tickets are priced at $55 for adults (ages 13-64), and $45 for juniors (12 & under) and seniors (65 & older), along with a special student ticket of $25, student identification card required, at the campuses of the four participating teams and a special designated ticket window at the 1980 Rink - Herb Brooks Arena Box Office.