League Announces All-Conference & All-Rookie Teams

League Announces All-Conference & All-Rookie Teams

ALBANY, N.Y. -- ECAC Hockey announced today the recipients of the league’s annual All-Conference and All-Rookie Teams as selected by the league’s 12 coaches.

Leading the way on the first team is 2014 Cleary Cup Champion Union, which has four student-athletes on the squad, of which three members were named to defense, reflecting its league-leading 1.91 goals per game. A large part of the success of the defense, which only surrendered 42 goals in 22 games, was attributed to goaltender Colin Stevens, who posted a 17-3-1 conference mark with five shutouts and the defensive duo of Mat Bodie and Shayne Gostisbehere, who were solid two-way players, each ranking in the top five in scoring among their counterparts.

Rounding out the first-team are three high-scoring forwards led by the league’s top point getter, Greg Carey from St. Lawrence, who netted eight goals on the season and a league-best 27 assists for 35 total points (1.59 ppg) in 22 conference games. He also led the conference in power-play points with 21. Joining Carey on the first-team are Ryan Haggerty from Rensselaer, who led the league in goals scored in conference action with 14 in 21 games. Completing the list is Daniel Carr from Union, who was near the top of nearly every offensive category this season in league-play. In doing so, he became the program’s leading scorer in its Division 1 era.

Below is a complete list of 2013-14 of All-Conference and All-Rookie Teams:

Forward        Greg Carey, St. Lawrence
Forward        Daniel Carr, Union
Forward        Ryan Haggerty, Rensselaer
Defense        Shayne Gostisbehere, Union
Defense        Mat Bodie, Union
Goaltender    Colin Stevens, Union

Forward        Sam Anas, Quinnipiac
Forward        Kellen Jones, Quinnipiac
Forward        Jesse Root, Yale
Defense        Gavin Bayreuther, St. Lawrence
Defense        Joakim Ryan, Cornell
Goaltender    Andy Iles, Cornell

Forward        Kenny Agostino, Yale
Forward        Daniel Ciampini, Union
Forward        Brian Ferlin, Cornell
Defense        Spiro Goulakos, Colgate
Defense        Dennis Robertson, Brown
Goaltender    Charlie Finn, Colgate

Forward        Sam Anas, Quinnipiac
Forward        Matt Carey, St. Lawrence
Forward        Mike Vecchione, Union
Defense        Gavin Bayreuther, St. Lawrence
Defense        James de Haas, Clarkson
Goaltender    Charlie Finn, Colgate

For more information about ECAC Hockey, log onto www.ecachockey.com. and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.