All-League & All-Rookie Teams Announced

All-League & All-Rookie Teams Announced

ALBANY, N.Y. -- In conjunction with the upcoming 50th annual 2011 ECAC Men’s Hockey Championship weekend the league office announced today the three all-league teams and an all-rookie team as selected after a nomination and voting process conducted by the league’s coaches.

Four of the League’s participant teams have members on the first-team, including Rensselaer. Last season’s reigning Most Outstanding Player senior forward Chase Polack was named to the league’ first-team. Polacek led the league in scoring for the second consecutive season netting 11 goals and 16 assists for 27 points. The Edina, Minnesota has been a clutch performer for the Engineers during his four seasons. He led the conference with five game-winning goals in 22 conference games this season.

Forward Brian O’Neill helped spark the high-scoring Bulldogs offense once again this season. The junior forward ranked in the top ten in nearly every offensive category this season in league play. O’Neill was third in the conference in scoring with 25 points; second in goals scored with 12; fourth in power-play points with 11; first in power-play goals with six; and ninth in assists with 13. The Yardley, Pennsylvania native helped lead Yale to a program win record (25) and ranks 20th nationally with .56 goals per game and 1.25 points in overall games.

Rounding out the forward position on the league’s first- team is fellow Bulldog Andrew Miller. The sophomore was voted "best passer" by his teammates and is No. 7 in the nation with .91 assists per game (tops in ECAC Hockey). More impressive is that 19 of his 29 assists are primary ones. Miller leads the team with 29 helpers (8th best at Yale) this year while his 40 points are tied for the most.

Anchoring the first-team all-league defense are a pair of solid two-way defenders in Nick Bailen from Rensselaer and Princeton’s Taylor Fedun and goaltender Keith Kinkaid from Union.

Engineers’ defender Nick Bailen ranked second among his counterparts in league-play this season averaging 0.91 points in 22 league games this season on five goals and 15 assists. The sophomore developed into a solid two-way player helping backbone a resilient RPI defense that allowed 52 goals in 22 conferrence games and led the special teams assault registering 10 points on the power-play.

A four-year letterwinner at Princeton, Fedun served as team captain for the 2010-11 season following an outstanding junior year in which he was a key player on a defensive unit. The Edmonton, Alberta native was a team leader on the both the Tigers’ power-play unit and penalty-kill team. Fedun finished his career at Princeton with 20 goals and 48 assists which ranks second all-time among his counterparts. Fedun was also a vital cog on the Tiger’s special teams, scoring six of his eight conference goals on the power-play.

Union sophomore, Keith Kinkaid posted a conference record of 17-3-2 (.818), leading the league. Overall he set the school single-season wins record this year (25), breaking Corey Milan’s previous record of 19 set in 2008-09. He also moved into second on the school’s all time wins list with 36 career victories, trailing only Kris Mayotte (46 win from 2002-06) on the list. He is the first Union goaltender to record a sub 2.00 goals-against average after regular-season play (1.90 GAA).

The league also recognized its top rookies, with the high-scoring trio at the forward positions, from Princeton, Andrew Calof, Greg Carey, St. Lawrence, along with Dan Carr from Union. Mat Bodie, Union and Dennis Robertson from Brown earned top defender accolades, while Cornell’s Andy Iles anchors the defense from the goaltender position.  

Eleven other student-athletes were also recognized with second-team and third-team honors.


Forward        Chase Polacek, Rensselaer
Forward        Brian O'Neill, Yale
Forward        Andrew Miller, Yale
Defense        Nick Bailen, Rensselaer
Defense        Taylor Fedun, Princeton
Goaltender    Keith Kinkaid, Union

Forward        Jack Maclellan, Brown
Forward        Joe Devin, Cornell
Forward        Kelly Zajac, Union
Defense        Brock Matheson, Union
Defense        Danny Biega, Harvard
Goaltender    James Mello, Dartmouth

Forward        Andrew Calof, Princeton
Forward        Chris Cahill, Yale
Forward        Jeremy Welsh, Union
Defense        Mike Devin, Cornell
Defense        Joe Stejskal, Dartmouth
Goaltender    Allen York, Rensselaer    

Forward        Andrew Calof, Princeton
Forward        Greg Carey, St. Lawrence
Forward        Dan Carr, Union
Defense        Mat Bodie, Union
Defense        Dennis Robertson, Brown
Goaltender    Andy Iles, Cornell

(click here to view complete release)