2014 ECAC Men's Hockey Championship

2014 ECAC Men's Hockey Championship

ALBANY, N.Y. -- The 2014 ECAC Men's Hockey Championship, the 53rd annual event, commenced March 7-9 and featured a 12-team championship field held over three weekends.

Tournament competition featured four first-round series conducted at on-campus sites Friday-Sunday, March 7-9; four quarterfinals series at on-campus sites Friday-Sunday, March 14-16; and the championship semifinals, and championship game March 21-22 at historic 1980-Rink-Herb Brooks Arena at the Olympic Center in Lake Placid, New York.

Union defeated Colgate, 5-2 in the ECAC Hockey Championship Game, becoming only the third team in league history to win three straight Whitelaw Cups. The last was Boston University in 1977, and Cornell was the other to do it in 1970.

Colin Stevens made 31 saves and Daniel Carr had a goal and two assists for the Dutchmen. Matt Hatch, Daniel Ciampini, Mike Vecchione and Max Novak also scored for the Dutchmen.

Lake Placid annually hosted the ECAC Men’s Hockey Championship for a ten-year period from 1993-2002. The arena has been used several times for college hockey championships in the United States. It hosted the 1970, 1984 and 1988 NCAA Men’s Ice Hockey Championship, commonly referred to as the Frozen Four. The arena has hosted the NCAA Women’s Ice Hockey Championship  as well, in 2007.

Union College

Friday, March 21
Semifinal Game One - Union 5 vs. Cornell 2
Semifinal Game Two - Colgate 3 vs. Quinnipiac 2, (2ot)

Saturday, March 22
Union 5 vs. Colgate 2

2014 All-Tournament Team
F - Daniel Carr, Union
F - Mike Vecchione, Union
F - Tyson Spink, Colgate
D - Shayne Gostisbehere, Union
D - Mat Bodie, Union
G - Colin Stevens, Union

Most Outstanding Player - Daniel Carr, Union

FIRST-ROUND (Friday, March 7 - Sunday, March 9 - Best-of-three)
No. 12 Princeton at No. 5 Clarkson (Clarkson wins series, 2-1)
No. 11 Harvard at No. 6 Yale (Yale wins series, 2-0)
No. 10 Dartmouth at No. 7 Rensselaer (Dartmouth wins series, 2-1)
No. 9 Brown at No. 8 St. Lawrence (St. Lawrence wins series, 2-0)

QUARTERFINALS (Friday, March 14 - Sunday, March 16 - Best-of-three)
(Winners of First-Round at home arenas of four seeds)
No. 10 Dartmouth at No. 1 Union (Union wins series, 2-0)
No. 8 St. Lawrence at No. 2 Colgate (Colgate wins series, 2-0)
No. 6 Yale at No. 3 Quinnipiac (Quinnipiac wins series, 2-0)
No. 5 Clarkson at No. 4 Cornell (Cornell wins series, 2-1)