St. Lawrence

Peverley is Stanley Cup Champion

Photo by Harry How/Getty Images
Photo by Harry How/Getty Images

Former St. Lawrence captain Rich Peverley '04 and the Boston Bruins defeated the Vancouver Canucks by the score of 4-0 on Wednesday evening to become the 2011 Stanley Cup champions.  Peverley becomes the first Saints player to have his name engraved on the Stanley Cup as a player.

Peverley, who was obtained by the Bruins on Feb. 18 from the Atlanta Thrashers, was inserted on the first line by Bruins coach Claude Julien to replace Nathan Horton, who was knocked out of the series against Vancouver with a severe concussion in game three of the series. He responded with a pair of goals in the 4-0 Bruins win in game two, which tied the series at 2-2.  The Bruins hoisted the most famous trophy in sports for the first time since 1972.

Peverley began his professional career in the East Coast Hockey League and led the Milwaukee Admirals (American Hockey League) in points before being signed to a NHL contract by the Nashville Predators. He was claimed off waivers by the Atlanta Thrashers in 2009 and was traded in February to the Bruins. Heading into the playoffs he had played 276 career NHL games with 60 goals and 91 assists for 151 points.

One of only two members of the Bruins to play 82 regular season games, although not all were with Boston, Peverley has four goals and seven assists in 22 playoff games and has played various spots in the lineup including seeing time on the penalty kill and the power play.

Peverley was joined on the roster by Conn Smythe winner Tim Thomas, a former goaltender at the University of Vermont.  Thomas delivered three game seven victories in the series, including shutouts over the Tampa Bay Lightning (1-0) and Canucks (4-0). 

Peverley, one of only five players to lead the Saints in scoring in three consecutive seasons (2001-02 through 2003-04) had 44 goals and 73 assists in his 138-game Saint career.

Other former Saint players who have been part of Stanley Cup Championship teams include Ron Waske, who was trainer, and Bill Torrey, who was general manager when the New York Islanders won four straight from 1980-83, Mike Keenan who coached the New York Rangers to the title in 1994 and Ray Shero, who is general manager of the Pittsburgh Penguins, 2009 Stanley Cup Champions.