Princeton Wraps Season with Annual Awards Banquet

Princeton Wraps Season with Annual Awards Banquet

PRINCETON -- The Princeton men's hockey team held its annual post-season banquet last Friday night at the Nassau Inn in Princeton and handed out its five year-end awards. A great turnout of student-athletes, parents, alumni and staff honored the senior class and award winners.

The first award presented on the night was the Tucker Ironman Award, presented annually to that member of the Princeton Varsity Hockey Team who best exemplifies the Ironman spirit through his off-season preparation, commitment to conditioning and overall physical endurance. The award was previously named the Top Athlete Award, but the award was recently endowed in honor of Thomas J. Tucker '95, a former Princeton hockey player who passed away last year, at the age of 35, following a courageous battle with brain cancer. Senior Kevin Kaiser was given the award for the second-straight season, after sharing it as a junior with Lee Jubinville. The award was first given in head coach Guy Gadowsky's first season at Princeton and Darroll Powe was the award winner the first three seasons it was given out.

The Hobey Baker Trophy was presented to freshman defenseman Michael Sdao. The trophy is awarded annually to the team's freshman hockey player who, among his classmates, in play, sportsmanship and influence has contributed most to the sport.  Sdao led all Princeton defenseman in goals scored and finished the season with five goals and four assists for nine points. Sdao appeared in all but one game during the season. He becomes the third straight defenseman to win the award, joining 2008 winner Taylor Fedun and 2009 winner Derrick Pallis.

Fedun was the recipient of the 1941 Championship Trophy, which is presented annually to that varsity player who best reflected the winning spirit of the 1941 championship team and in so doing was an inspiration to his teammates. Fedun was Princeton's fifth leading scorer and topped all Tiger defenseman. A second-team All-Ivy selection as a junior, Fedun has led the Tigers in plus/minus in two of his three seasons.

Fellow defenseman Brad Schroeder was presented the Richard E. Vaughan Cup, awarded annually to that varsity player who best exemplifies perseverance and dedication to Princeton Hockey. The winner as voted by his teammates was Schroeder, Princeton's leading shot blocker in each of his four years wearing the Orange and Black.

The final award of the night was the Blackwell Trophy, which is annually awarded to that member of the Princeton varsity hockey team who in play, sportsmanship and influence has contributed most to the sport. The award was presented to senior Dan Bartlett, Princeton's leading scorer in each of the past two seasons As a senior, he scored 16 goals and added 13 assists for 29 points.

The night concluded with words from each of the nine members of Princeton's graduating class - Schroeder, Jody Pederson, Bartlett, Mark Magnowski, Kaiser, Tyler Beachell, Cam MacIntyre, Kevin Crane and Zane Kalemba.