McIntyre, St. Pierre Headline Colgate Awards

McIntyre, St. Pierre Headline Colgate Awards

HAMILTON, N.Y. -- David McIntyre (Pefferlaw, Ont.) and Nick St. Pierre (St. Etienne, Que.) both received two awards each as the 2008-09 Colgate men’s hockey season officially closed Saturday evening with its annual awards banquet at the Colgate Inn.

McIntyre, a first team all-ECAC Hockey selection, a first team all-College Hockey News honoree, a first team all-American by Inside College Hockey, and a finalist for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, captured the Best Offensive Player and the Coaches Award. The junior completed the season with the highest single-season point total since the 1999-2000 campaign with 21 goals and 22 assists in 37 games. His 13 goals against league competition during the 2008-09 season ranked first among ECAC Hockey players.

St. Pierre, who finished his collegiate career with 14 goals and 48 points in 147 games, was honored with the Dan Coley “Barrell” Award, which is given to the team’s best defenseman. It marked the third time in his four year career he either won the award outright or shared it. As a freshman, St. Pierre was the co-award winner with Mike Campaner, and then was the recipient the following season. He also garnered the Rob Ries Memorial Award, which is handed out to the player who provides the most inspiration and leadership. Once named the team captain for the 2008-09 season, St. Pierre became only the second player in Colgate’s storied hockey history to serve three years in some type of captaincy role, whether it be as an assistant or as team captain. Following the season, St. Pierre signed an amateur tryout agreement with the Syracuse Crunch of the AHL, for which he has appeared in five games.

Mark Anderson (Hastings, Neb.), Tom Riley (Ottawa, Ont.), Jason Fredricks (Eagle River, Wisc.), Joe DeBello (Oswego, Ill.), and Ethan Cox (Richmond, B.C.) were other award recipients.

Anderson was honored with the 18th Annual Terry Slater Award, which is named after Colgate’s former coach between 1977-92 and is handed out by the Silver Puck Club to the senior whose performance, leadership and dedication both on and off the ice during his career and had the greatest impact on Colgate Hockey. The senior, who served as an assistant team captain, played in 128 games on the blueline for the Raiders while posting nine goals and 24 assists. As a junior, he became only the second player in the program’s history to garner Academic All-American honors after being named to the third team.

Riley was named as the 32nd recipient of the Steve Riggs Memorial Award, which recognizes gentlemanly play and a high standard of ability. During the 2008-09 campaign, the senior wound up with seven infractions for 14 penalty minutes. Riley, who also served as an assistant team captain, completed his eligibility scoring 25 goals and dishing out 41 assists in his 142-game career.

Cox, who was a finalist for the BNY Mellon Hockey Humanitarian Award for the second consecutive time, earned the Best Defensive Player Award. This honor isn’t necessarily designated to go to a defenseman. Cox was one of nine players to see action in all 37 games. The junior tallied 14 points on two goals and 12 assists. Among his two goals included an unassisted shorthanded score in the Raiders’ 2-2 tie with Cornell in the title game of the Florida Collegiate Classic in Estero, Fla., right after Christmas.

Fredricks and DeBello shared the 14th Annual Whit Williams Award, which goes to the player(s) who over the course of a particular season or their respective careers, show the most improvement. Fredricks, who ranks fifth all-time in games played at Colgate with 149, finished his senior season with a career-high five goals and 16 points. The senior tallied his lone two-goal game of his career in a come-from-behind 5-4 overtime victory over Lake Superior State, January 8 at Starr Rink. Used primarily as a forward the previous two seasons, DeBello was moved back on defense following the 12th game of the season. The senior played in all 37 contests and assisted on Colgate’s game-winning goal in a 1-0 upset victory at then 19th-ranked Dartmouth.

Following the award ceremony, the 2009-2010 captains were unveiled. McIntyre and Cox will serve as team captains, while Brian Day (Danvers, Mass.) and Wade Poplawski (Winnipeg, Man.) will be assistant captains.

Colgate finished the 2008-09 season with a 12-18-7 record. The Raiders broke the national record with 19 overtime contests and tied the all-time record with six overtime victories. Colgate closed the season with seven-consecutive overtime games. The 2009-2010 regular-season opens Friday, October 9 at Niagara.